Hands of gold are always cold

Pro tip #2

It turned out to be another Dota comic. Next week though, prepare for something darker and more knightly.

Last week’s been off work, with way too much time on my hands. I’ve started a work-out program that will probably help me from squandering all the free time that I’ve got this and next week. I’m aching all over, but I guess that’s part of the plan.

Since I’ve alot more time than usual, I’ve already started on next weeks comic. I wanted to do a new layout, something that can be used for integrating mor than one frame. But we’ll see about that as next week is another one-framer.

So this week apart from drawing, there’s been some Dota and some reading. I’m thinking to do post about the things that I’ve read, which should be done by next week sometime. It is some mix. Also I’ve watched two movies that Persson told me I definitely had to see.

First, Blade Runner. I was wondering why I’d never seen this movie. About five minutes into the movie I realize why. Though I can’t really put it into words. It is a slow movie, ambience and environment tell as much of the story as the dialogue. I watched it with my brother, and he fell asleep about 20 minutes into the film. That we watched it in the middle of the day says alot about just how slow it is. But it didn’t bother me though. And although the tech in this movie is all long dated, it feels more like a parallell universe than dated science fiction. Although much and more was brown, grey and beige shades of black. The feelings that it conveyed were bright and clear. Among the saddest scene I’ve ever seen.

Second, Primer. With the tag-line ‘Donny Darko for grown-ups’, it just says it all. When I saw Donnie Darko, I slowly understood what had happened over the next few days thinking about it. But Primer. It starts out so simply, but the complexity grows exponentially. I’m trying to figure out what they’re trying to figure out happened, or happens. The film was made on a very low budget, $7000, but they’ve turned the restrictions into strengths. It seems minimalistic, rather than poor. And there’s quality. The dialogue felt alive, the cuts added suspense, and the science stuff is subtly faked. This film is one that I could probably watch again, something that I don’t think about more than a handful other movies.

Then I had to play Heavy Rain. I thought it silly to brush my teeth and shave in the beginning of the game, but soon came to the realization that I would’ve done the same thing myself. You have to learn to use the control system somehow, and what better than to shave and beat the heck out of your kid in a swordfight. I’m just an hour or something into the story and it is interesting, even though I am against everythign that is QTE. It seems to work, but I have a feeling that my choices don’t matter much.

That’s it for this week.

Cheers

-Andreas

 

One thought on “Hands of gold are always cold

  1. Pingback: What does Kanye West and Hideo Kojima both have in common? | zvenne's homies

Leave a Reply

