How I met YOUR mother

How I met YOUR motherThis is the true account of what the story would be like if I told it to my future children. I doubt there is enough material to do 8+ seasons in there.

So this last week, I’ve been stuck on Puzzle Craft. It is really addicting. I don’t know if I ever played anything with the same addiction factor. It plays out like a black hole, and the only thing that stops me from playing it 24/7 is the fact that it eats battery and I have to charge the iPod. The gameplay is a mixture of puzzle and simcity and Harvest Moon. Puzzle Quest some years back showed that puzzles can be grafted into any other game with awesome progeny. I wonder when someone will realize this and create a puzzle MMO; can you imagine the addiction factor of World of Warcraft AND a PUZZLE game?
Most of the game is spent connecting chickens and rocks in long lines so that they explode and fund future development for your kingdom. Every new building or research break-through augments your connecting from lowering the number of things you need to spawn better bricks, to increasing the amount of  better bricks spawning. There are two puzzle scenarios, the farm and the mine. (Just like Harvest Moon) And they play out a bit differently. The only problem I can see with this game is that it is free. There is an option to buy gold, but there really is no point to buy gold as you will have all you need and more from getting stuck with those puzzles. Even though that might not be a problem for me, it might be for the developers. But then again, there might be other people out there that can’t stand those puzzles, but still wants the castle.

I saw Les Miserables last saturday. It was impressive. Recording the singing live really did seem to lift the film. Russel Crowe did surprise with great singing. And it weighed up some of the worst CG stuff ever. I did like it.
The weekend continued in the mode of musicals as I watched Dr. Horribles Sing-along Blog yesterday. Pure awesomeness.

Finally, the weekend was finished by the documentary Searching for Sugar Man. Many things have been said about it. It is a great story told in a good film. I missed the “We found him finally”-break in the pacing. But other than that, good work. And we’re hoping for a Swedish Oscar.

Cheers!

 

-Andreas

 

 

Leave a Reply

