Missing Spotify Content

So with the recent addition of Pink Floyd to the Spotify-library I wanted to run down a short list of artists or albums I miss from the music-streaming service. These are songs which I’ve searched for thinking, “Maybe this time it’s there”, to no success. They might not be what you think is lacking from the Spotify content list, but that’s OK, we’ve got a comment section for you to express yourself. Also if you don’t use Spotify I’m sorry for always bringing it up in my posts. These track may also change depending (I guess) from country to country. This list is based on the Swedish content for Spotify.

a)
Pixies at the BBC is a set of different live radio session recordings from between ’88 and ’91. If you don’t know the Pixies you might have heard their hit song Where is My Mind?, which has been featured in multiple movies and TV-shows.

This album is short and intense, with most songs under three minutes in length and together the fifteen tracks builds up to a 30-minute compilation. It’s under-produced and a lovely introduction and a characterization of everything that I love about the Pixies.

b)
Nuit Blanche is a 2003 album by the Bulgarian Electroclash band Vive la Feté. I used to listen to them a lot during my high-school years. It was often the album I would put on as I prepared for a night of clubbing and collective alcohol consumption. It’s an album which feels filthy and dirty. Though that might just be based on the sexually charged moans of Mon Dieu.

I like this album and I’ve listened to it quite a lot, though less frequently in later years. But I’ve always had a problem or a feeling of shame for the album’s immaturity. Immaturity, filthy, sweaty and primitive would be how I would end this short text on the missing Nuit Blanche record.

c)
Citizen Kane is the Beatles of music. World of Warcraft is the Beatles of MMORPG’s. The Wire is the Beatles of TV-shows. The Beatles is Shakespeare of pop-music.

The Beatles, the band which is greater than Yeezus isn’t yet on Spotify. Though you can’t fault them for not having access to their discography, few do. It’s only been three years since they appeared onto iTunes online music store.

I’m having a hard time writing about the Beatles. I like them, and I’m not alone in doing so. There’s been oh so many texts and thoughts on the Beatles and their music. But seriously who doesn’t like the Beatles? I’m not going to defend them, they don’t need that.

They are also one of the go-to-bands for music which gets stuck in your head. I spent the whole day yesterday humming the melody for The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill.

d)
The third album, The Moon & Antarctica from rock band Modest Mouse differs from the bands two earlier records. There seems to be a lot more experimentation and less aggressive force. I’ve read that coming of the tour for (the marvelous) The Lonesome Crowded West album lead singer Isaac Brook’s vocal chords needed a rest and that was one reason for the new musical direction.

Spotify’s access to the Modest Mouse catalog has been slowly growing. The addition of the Lonesome Crowded West was a rather pleasant addition, but yet I also want the counter-point which is The Moon & Antarctica. Some of the songs from this album can be found on the live bootleg album Baron von Bullshit Rides Again, but of course it’s no surprise that the sound quality is severely lacking.

e)
You’ve most definitely heard John Murphy‘s music before, I think. His two most used songs In the House – In a Heartbeat and Adagio in D Minor was both written originally for two Danny Boyle movies, 28 Days Later and Sunshine, and has afterwards been used in multiple other films, trailers, commercials and video games.

The two tracks are actually available through Spotify but the entire movie soundtrack is missing. I’ve got a few soundtracks that I listen to from time to time, Escape from New York, Blade Runner, Monsters and John Murphy’s albums would have fitted in nicely with that bunch.

f)
The masters of bombastic rock n roll Led Zeppelin is also missing from Spotify. They made such grandiose energetic music, goose-bump inducing, joyous, mysterious. From John Bonham’s giant drum-sounds to Robert Plants loud and thrilling singing.

In my early teenage years Led Zeppelin was probably my favorite musical band. I to a lot of classical rock but Led Zeppelin stood out as the superior group, and the use of the bombastic Kashmir in the 1998 version of Godzilla was one of the coolest things ever. It’s just now that I’ve come back to Led Zeppelin again and I still enjoy it just as much as I did back then.

g)
Indie rock band Spoon‘s third studio album Girls Can Tell has a special sound and a feel which I’ve had a hard time explaining. It’s certainly got some elements of classic rock and a really calm (in a good way) sound. When I first heard it I would describe them to people as the indie rock version of The Police meets Deep Purple. Now I don’t think that explanation makes that much sense, and it wouldn’t excite people all that much.

h)
Lastly the choice to include only the English versions of the Kraftwerk’s seventh album Die Mensch·Maschine (The Man-Machine) seems like a musical blasphemy. I think that the English versions sung with a German dialect has some value to bestow upon its listener, but I find the original version to be far and above the English version.

There we have it some of the content I find missing in the current Spotify music line-up. It’s a list ranging from some ridiculous choices to some obviously also including some more obscure. I hope you liked it, and please leave a comment with any thought or opinions you might have.

Leave a Reply

